Skip to main content

Preamble

Insufficient Land Supply leading to Imbalance in Supply-Demand

Land shortage has been plaguing Hong Kong in recent years. The society at large is suffering from multi-faceted problems with "pricy", "tiny" and "cramped" living conditions, characterised by soaring property prices and rents; the difficulties in purchasing the first home; and all sorts of problems associated with overcrowded living space, inadequate community facilities, and high business operating costs. Insufficient land for housing, economic and other purposes has become one of the major issues of great concern to the public.

Hong Kong has a mountainous topography. Of the total land area of 1,111 km2, 24.3% (270 km2) is built-up area, with the remaining 75.7% (841 km2) being not-for-development or non-built-up area consisting mainly of country parks, wetland, reservoirs, fishponds, etc. The built-up area includes housing (6.9%), infrastructural facilities (5.9%), economic land (2.7%), government and community facilities (2.3%) and open space (2.3%) etc. (Figure 1). Over the decades, Hong Kong has undergone major shifts in social and economic structures. Planning and land development have always been challenging, not only in ensuring adequate and timely supply of land in tandem with the population, community and economic growth, but also in providing land to meet different development needs.

According to the Census and Statistics Department (C&SD)'s latest population and domestic household projections (Figure 2), Hong Kong's population and households are projected to continue to increase. As stated in the baseline case of population projections, the overall population is projected to increase until it peaks at about 8.22 million in 2043 and then to drop slowly to 7.72 million in 2066. Nevertheless, due to the declining average household size, the number of domestic households will increase at a faster rate than the population; this is estimated to rise from 2.51 million in 2016 to a peak of 2.97 million in 2046, and then down to 2.95 million in 2051.


Figure 1: Land Utilisation in Hong Kong
Source: Planning Department
Remark:
  1. The land use data was compiled using satellite images dated December 2016 and January 2017 [©AIRBUS DS (2016, 2017)], in-house survey information of the Planning Department up to end-2016 and other relevant information from various government departments. As definitions of some land use classes and methodology are updated from time to time, the figures this year may not be comparable directly to those provided in previous years.
(Figure 1)
Figure 2: Hong Kong Population (1966-2066), Domestic Households and Average Household Size (1966-2051)
Source: C&SD and Task Force on Land Supply (TFLS) Paper No. 02/2017
Remark:
  1. Projected population from the results of the Hong Kong Population Projections 2017-2066 published by C&SD in September 2017.
  2. Projected domestic households and average household size from the results of the Hong Kong Domestic Household Projections up to 2051 published by C&SD in October 2017. As such, the projection figures for 2056, 2061 and 2066 are not available.
(Figure 2)

Despite the demographic changes, Hong Kong's land supply has not kept up with the growth in population, number of households or the sustained economic and social development during the same period. Whilst the built-up land in Hong Kong has been rising steadily since 1970s to cater for the needs arising from the population and continuing economic growth, land development since the turn of the millennium has slowed down in response to the Asian Financial Crisis in 1997 and the subsequent economic downturn. As a result, the increase in developable land, housing flat supply and space for economic activities has been lagging behind the continued growth in population and households. Neither did land development keep pace with the economic recovery thereafter.

Land development has virtually come to a halt since 2005. Over the past decade, the area of built-up land has remained almost the same, leading to a shortage in different kinds of land.

Figure 3: Total Area of Built-up Land
Source: Development Bureau
Figure 3

As shown in (Figure 3), land supply in Hong Kong continuously increased during the 1980s and the 1990s. The area of built-up land in Hong Kong increased by 6,000 hectares (ha) (one ha is about the size of a standard football pitch) between 1995 and 2005, but the corresponding figure for 2005 to 2015 greatly shrunk to a mere 400 ha. Taking reclamation as an example, between 1985 and 2000, over 3,000 ha of land were created through reclamation, i.e. an average of about 200 ha (i.e. 2 km2) per annum. Over the next 15-year period between 2001 and 2015, only about 690 ha of land, or an average of some 40 ha per annum, were reclaimed, representing a decrease of 80% (Figure 4)

Figure 4: Statistics on reclamation
Source: Civil Engineering and Development Department
Figure 4

In fact, land development of Hong Kong is inextricably linked with the development of new towns. Six new towns, including Tsuen Wan and Sha Tin, were developed in the 1970s, while the second-generation new towns of Tin Shui Wai and Tseung Kwan O were developed in the 1980s. However, the pace of land development started to slow down significantly in the 1990s, and only Tung Chung New Town, the smallest amongst these new towns, was completed in this period (Figure 5). After the 2000s, no more new town was developed in Hong Kong. Looking ahead, apart from the Tung Chung New Town Extension, the next new town (or new development area, "NDA") will be the Kwu Tung North and Fanling North NDAs, which are expected to be completed in stages starting from 2023.

Figure 5: Timeline of New Town Development in Hong Kong (from the first completion onwards)
Figure 5

Impact of Land Shortage

The severe shortage of land supply inevitably creates a series of livelihood issues that directly impact the daily life of citizens.

For housing, the insufficient land supply has directly led to a shortage of housing land; as a result, housing completion, whether public or private, have dropped dramatically.

Between 2007 and 2016, the average annual housing completions amounted to merely 25,700 units, down by over 50% from the corresponding figure for the preceding decade (an annual average of 59,800 units) (Figure 6).

Figure 6: New Residential Unit Completions by Property Type
Source: Rating and Valuation Department and Housing Department
Figure 6

Given the drop in housing completion, property rents and prices have seen substantial growth in the past few years.

According to the Rating and Valuation Department (RVD)'s March 2018 figures, the overall price and rental indices for private domestic properties reached a high point in 2017 of 333.9 and 182.6 respectively (100 in both indices in 1999) (Figure 7). As at end-2017, the vacancy rate of private domestic properties was about 3.7%, which was much lower than the long-term average vacancy rate of 5.0% from 1996 to 2015.

Figure 7: Rental and Price Indices for Private Domestic Properties (1985-2017)
Source: RVD and C&SD
Figure 7

The problem is particularly acute in the public housing sector. The average waiting time for general applicants for public rental housing (PRH) is as high as 4.7 years.

As at end-December of 2017, there were about 155,100 general PRH applicants (i.e. family and elderly one-person applicants) and about 127,800 non-elderly one-person applicants under the Quota and Points System. The average waiting time1 for general applicants is

Waiting time refers to the time taken between registration for PRH and first flat offer, excluding any frozen period during the application period (e.g. when the applicant has not yet fulfilled the residence requirement; the applicant has requested to put his/her application on hold pending arrival of family members for family reunion; the applicant is imprisoned, etc.). The average waiting time for general applicants refers to the average of the waiting time of those general applicants who were housed to PRH in the past 12 months.

4.7 years, exceeding the Hong Kong Housing Authority (HA)'s target of providing the first flat offer to general applicants at around three years on average. Meanwhile, public demand for subsidised sales flats remains strong. Since resuming the sale of Home Ownership Scheme (HOS) units by HA in 2014, all the projects have been oversubscribed. An example is the HOS project launched recently in 2017: the some 2,100 units offered were oversubscribed by almost 49 times.

Inadequate land supply and high property price have made housing in Hong Kong increasingly unaffordable.

According to the latest survey conducted by Demographia, an international public policy consultancy, Hong Kong has been ranked the world's least affordable city to buy a home for eight consecutive years. The property price is 19.4 times household income.

Given the high rent and shortage of affordable housing, some grass-root families are left with no choice but to rent sub-divided units (SDUs) in an unsatisfactory living environment, or even SDUs in industrial buildings; the safety of these units is questionable. According to the C&SD's 2016 Population By-census, there were close to 93,000 SDUs in Hong Kong as at 2016, accommodating a population of some 210,000.

While property prices and rents remained high, Hong Kong's per capita floor area of accommodation was only 161 square feet (sq. ft.) and the median floor area of accommodation of domestic households about 430 sq. ft. in 2016, according to figures of C&SD.

As for Government, Institution or Community (G/IC) sites, it should be noted that Hong Kong's population is rapidly ageing, with the percentage of elderly persons (those aged 65 and above) expected to rise from 16% in 2016 to 31% in 2041 and 34% in 2066 (Figure 8). The ageing and growing population will further increase the demand for G/IC facilities such as hospitals, clinics, elderly care centres, elderly homes, parks, etc.

Figure 8: Elderly Population (aged 65 and above)
Source: C&SD
Figure 8

As for land for economic use, after a modest cumulative growth of 9% in real terms between 1997 and 2003, the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of Hong Kong grew rapidly by about 33% in real accumulative terms between 2006 and 2016. However, during the same period, floor space for economic activities only recorded a modest increase.

As such, rental and price indices for various types of commercial and industrial properties all showed an upward trend. In 2017, the rental indices of offices, retail and flatted factories were 241.8, 182.5 and 190.5 respectively, whereas the price indices of these properties were 487, 558.9 and 778.5 respectively; all these indices were very high as compared to those of recent years (Figure 9). Meanwhile, the vacancy rates of various types of commercial and industrial properties have been on a steady decline in recent years.

Figure 9: Rental and Price Indices for Industrial and Commercial Properties (1985 - 2017)
Source: RVD and C&SD
Figure 9

High rents for industrial and commercial properties drive up operating costs for businesses, and severely undermine the competitiveness of Hong Kong. According to the International Institute for Management Development World Competitiveness Yearbook 2017, Hong Kong ranked second-to-last in the "Prices" category among the 63 economies covered in the analysis. Meanwhile, according to a study by the global property consultant CBRE, the rent for Grade A Offices in Central of Hong Kong was the most expensive in the world for the past two years (Figure 10).

Figure 10: Rental Cost of Grade A Offices in Major Cities
Source: CBRE
Major City Monthly rent per foot (HK$) 2017 Ranking 2016 Ranking
Hong Kong (Central) 197 1 1
London (West End) 139 2 2
New York (Manhattan) 132 3 9
Hong Kong (West Kowloon) 124 4 5
Beijing (CBD) 119 5 4
Beijing (Finance Street) 111 6 3
Tokyo (Marunouchi/Otemachi) 105 7 6
New York (South Manhattan) 102 8 -
New Delhi (Rajiv Chowk) 100 9 7
Shanghai (Pudong) 87 10 10
Remarks: Based on a conversion rate of US$1 to HK$7.8


Increasing Land Supply: A Pressing Need

There is no quick fix for the land shortage problem of Hong Kong. Hong Kong has been adopting a multi-pronged approach to increasing land supply over the past few years. In the short to medium term, mainly by changing existing land uses and increasing development density, a total of over 380,000 residential units can be provided. In the medium to long term, various NDAs and new town extensions, as well as potential railway property development projects, can provide over 220,000 residential units and over 8.6 million m2 of commercial and industrial floor area. 

On the one hand, the Government should continue to adopt a multi-pronged strategy to increase land in a sustained manner. On the other, we need to increase our efforts to make up for the lag of supply in the past and the current shortfall.

The society must come up with adequate land supply to satisfy different needs such as more public and private housing, commercial floor space including shops, offices and space for business startups, social welfare facilities including elderly homes, healthcare facilities, recreation space, etc. As we tackle the current problem of land shortage, we must not lose sight of the future and the needs of our next generation. As planning and major land development often take over a decade to come to fruition, there is an urgent need for us to act now to boost land supply for Hong Kong, in order to cater for our needs in the short, medium and long term. We cannot be short-sighted, seeing only the trees and not the wood.


Task Force on Land Supply

Hong Kong's land supply is in shortage and land production takes time. There is no lack of ideas or strategies on how to increase land supply, but the society lacks a broad consensus on the pros and cons, trade-offs and priorities of the various land supply options. On this basis, the Task Force on Land Supply (the Task Force), comprising 22 non-official and eight official members appointed by the Chief Executive, was established in September 2017 for a term of one and a half years from September 2017 to February 2019. The Task Force is made up of members from various professional disciplines and sectors, including planning, engineering, architecture, surveying, environment, academia, think tanks, social services, housing development and district administration.

The Task Force recognises Hong Kong's land shortage problems at present and for the long term. It is making a macro review of the sources of land supply, evaluates land supply options, and has launched a public engagement exercise to engage the community in discussions on the pros and cons of different options and their priorities, as well as the trade-off between different options. The objective of the Task Force is to achieve the broadest consensus and draw up a broad framework of recommendations on the overall land supply strategy and a prioritisation of different land supply options for submission to the Government, based on the opinions collected in the public engagement exercise.

| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

前言

土地不足問題以致供求失衡

土地短缺問題近年一直困擾香港。市民面對「貴」、「細」、「擠」:樓價高、租金貴、上車難;生活空間狹小擠迫、社區設施不足、營商成本高企,香港房屋、經濟,以至各類用地不足的問題,已經成為大眾最關心的其中一個議題。

香港地勢多山。在1,111平方公里的總土地面積中,已建設土地佔24.3%(270平方公里),其餘75.7%為非建設或未建設範圍(如郊野公園、濕地、水塘、魚塘等)。已建設土地包括房屋(6.9%)、基建(5.9%)、經濟用地(2.7%)、政府和社區設施(2.3%)及休憩用地(2.3%)等(圖表1)。過去數十年香港經歷了大規模的社會及經濟結構轉變,本港的規劃及土地發展要適時提供充足土地以配合人口、社區及經濟增長,滿足不同的社會需要,從來都是艱鉅的挑戰。

根據政府統計處最新的人口及住戶估算(圖表2),香港的人口及家庭住戶數目預計會持續增長。根據基線調查,整體人口預計增長至2043年約822萬的頂峰後,會緩慢下跌至2066年的約772萬,但由於平均每戶人數持續下跌,家庭住戶數目較人口的增長速度更快,預計由2016年的251萬升至2046年頂峰的297萬,然後降至2051年的295萬。


香港土地用途(資料來源:規劃署)(圖表1)
註釋:
  1. 有關的土地用途數據已根據2016年12月及2017年1的衞星圖像[版權持有者:©AIRBUS DS(2016,2017)]、截至2016年年底由規劃署內部調查所得的資料,以及各政府部門的其他相關資料而更新。由於部分土地用途分類的定義和方法不時更新,所以年內的數字未必能與往年直接比較。
(圖表1)

香港人口(1966-2066年),家庭住戶及住戶平均人數(1966-2051年)(圖表2)
註釋:
  1. 人口的推算數字是根據政府統計處2017年9月8日出版的《香港人口推算2017-2066》而得出的。
  2. 家庭住戶及住戶平均人數的推算數字來自政府統計處2017年10月出版的《至2051年的香港家庭住戶推算》,因此並沒有2056年、2061年及2066年的推算數字。
資料來源:政府統計處及專責小組文件第02/2017號
(圖表2)

不過香港的土地供應卻未能配合同期人口及住戶數目的增長,以及經濟和社會的持續發展。本港的已發展土地自1970年代起一直穩步上升,配合人口及經濟增長帶來的需要。然而,隨着1997年亞洲金融風暴及其後的經濟下滑,自千禧年以來,香港的土地發展速度放緩,導致可發展土地、住宅單位及經濟活動空間的增長,均落後於人口及住戶數目的持續增長,也趕不上其後經濟復蘇的步伐。

在2005年後,土地開發的步伐幾乎停頓,過去10年間已發展土地面積可謂原地踏步,導致各項土地資源不足。

已建設土地的總面積(圖表3)
資料來源:規劃署
(圖表3)

圖表3所示,八十至九十年代本港土地供應持續增長。1995年至2005年,香港已發展土地的面積共增加了6,000公頃(一公頃相等於一個標準足球場),然而,2005年至2015年有關數字卻大跌至只有400公頃。若以填海為例,在1985年至2000年間,香港透過填海創造超過3,000公頃的土地,即每年平均約200公頃(相當於2平方公里)。接着,在2001年至2015年的15年間,透過填海產生的土地只有約690公頃,相等於每年平均40多公頃(圖表4),下跌了八成。

過往填海造地的統計(圖表4)
資料來源:土木工程拓展署
(圖表4)

事實上,香港的土地開發與新市鎮發展密不可分:1970年代建立了荃灣及沙田等六個新市鎮,1980年代又發展天水圍和將軍澳等第二代新市鎮;然而,土地發展速度從1990年代開始明顯放緩,只有東涌新市鎮在這段期間開始落成,也是面積最小的新市鎮(圖表5)。2000年代後,香港再沒有新市鎮落成。展望將來,除了東涌新市鎮擴展外,下一個新市鎮(或稱新發展區)將是預計於2023年開始逐步落成的古洞北及粉嶺北新發展區。

香港新市鎮發展時序(以開始有發展落成計)(圖表5)
(圖表5)

土地短缺的影響

香港土地供應嚴重短缺,無可避免衍生一系列民生問題,直接影響市民的日常生活。

住屋方面,土地供應不足,直接導致房屋用地短缺,令本港不論公營或私營的房屋落成量均大幅減少。

在2007年至2016年間,平均每年住宅落成量只有約25,700個單位,較前10年的相應數字(平均每年59,800個單位),下跌了超過五成(圖表6)。

新住宅落成量,按類型劃分(圖表6)
資料來源:差餉物業估價署及房屋署
(圖表6)

房屋落成量下跌的後果是租金和樓價在過去數年顯著上升。

根據差餉物業估價署2018年3月的數字,整體私人住宅售價及租金指數在2017年分別升至333.9及182.6的高位(1999年兩個指數均為100)(圖表7)。截至2017年底,整體私人住宅空置率約為3.7%,遠低於1996年至2015年期間5% 的長期平均空置率。

私人住宅的租金及售價指數(1985-2017年)(圖表7)
資料來源:差餉物業估價署及政府統計處
(圖表7)

公營房屋的問題相對嚴峻,一般公屋申請者的平均輪候時間高達4.7年。

截至2017年12月底,約有155,100個一般公共租住房屋(公屋)申請者(即家庭及長者一人申請者),以及約127,800個配額及計分制下的非長者一人申請者。一般申請者的平均輪候時間

輪候時間是以公屋申請登記日期開始計算,直至首次配屋為止,但不包括申請期間的任何凍結時段(例如申請人尚未符合居港年期規定;申請人正等待家庭成員來港團聚而要求暫緩申請;申請人在獄中服刑等)。一般申請者的平均輪候時間,是指在過去12個月獲安置入住公屋的一般申請者的輪候時間平均數。

為4.7年,偏離了香港房屋委員會(房委會)為一般申請者訂下平均約3年獲首次編配單位的目標。同時,市民對資助出售單位的需求持續殷切。房委會自2014年起恢復推售居者有其屋計劃(居屋)單位時,均錄得超額申請。以最近2017年的居屋銷售項目為例,約2,100個單位獲超額申請近49倍。

房屋供應短缺、樓價高企,令香港的房屋愈來愈難負擔。

根據國際公共政策顧問機構Demographia最新的調查,香港連續8年成為樓價最難負擔的城市,樓價對家庭入息比率達19.4倍。

在租金高企、可負擔的房屋供應不足的情況下,部分負擔不起私人住宅租金的基層家庭或只能租住環境欠佳的「劏房」,甚至基本安全成疑的「工廈劏房」。根據政府統計處的2016年中期人口統計的結果,本港在2016年有近93,000個「劏房」,當中居住了近21萬人口。

除樓價貴、租金高的困境,根據統計處數字,2016年的香港人均居所樓面面積中位數只有161平方呎,家庭住戶的居所樓面面積中位數則約430平方呎。

政府、機構或社區用地方面,香港的人口迅速老化,長者人口(即65歲及以上)的比例預計會由2016年的16%,升至2041年的31%及2066年的34%(圖表8),人口老化及增長將進一步增加對政府、機構或社區設施(如醫院、診所、長者護理設施、安老院舍和公園等)的需求。

長者人口(65歲及以上)(圖表8)
資料來源:政府統計處
(圖表8)

經濟用地方面,香港的本地生產總值在1997年至2003年間經歷了9%的實質累計增長,其後在2006年至2016年間增長加速,錄得約33%的實質累計增幅,惟同期用作經濟活動用途的樓面空間只錄得溫和增長。

在此情況下,各類工商業物業的租金及售價指數均呈現上升趨勢。2017年寫字樓、零售業樓宇及分層工廠大廈的租金指數分別為241.8、182.5及190.5;售價指數則分別為487、558.9及778.5,全數為近年高峰(圖表9)。同時,各類工商業物業的空置率近年則逐步回落並呈穩定下降趨勢。

工商業物業的租金及售價指數(1985-2017年)(圖表9)
資料來源:差餉物業估價署及政府統計處
(圖表9)

工商業樓宇租金高企,推升了營商成本,嚴重損害香港的競爭力。根據瑞士洛桑國際管理發展學院的《2017世界競爭力年報》,在「價格」一環的評分,香港在63個經濟體中,排名倒數第二。根據國際房地產顧問世邦魏理仕的研究,香港中環甲級寫字樓租金在過去兩年都是全球最昂貴的(圖表10)。

主要城市甲級寫字樓租用成本(圖表10)
資料來源:世邦魏理仕
主要城市 每月每呎 (港元) 2017年 排名 2016年 排名
香港(中環) 197 1 1
倫敦(西區) 139 2 2
紐約(曼哈頓) 132 3 9
香港(西九龍) 124 4 5
北京(核心商業區) 119 5 4
北京(金融街) 111 6 3
東京(丸之內/大手町) 105 7 6
紐約(南曼哈頓) 102 8 -
新德里(拉吉夫廣場) 100 9 7
上海(浦東) 87 10 10
註:以1美元兌7.8港元換算

增加土地供應:刻不容缓

要解決香港土地不足的問題,不能一蹴即至。香港在過去數年透過多管齊下的措施增加土地供應,短中期方面主要透過更改土地用途和增加發展密度,合共可提供超過38萬個住宅單位。中長期方面,各個新發展區和新市鎮擴建,以及潛在鐵路物業發展項目,可提供超過22萬個住宅單位及超過860萬平方米的工商業樓面。

一方面,政府必須繼續以多管齊下的策略,持之以恆造地,另一方面,我們須加倍努力,追回過去的滯後和現時的短缺。

社會必須有充足的土地供應,滿足各式各樣的社會民生需求,包括覓地興建公私營房屋、商舖寫字樓、創業空間、社福設施包括安老院舍、醫療設施、休憩空間等。在應對現時土地短缺的問題時,我們亦需要為香港的未來和下一代未雨綢繆,不能短視、見樹不見林。鑑於規劃及發展大型項目的過程動輒需要超過10年,增闢香港土地供應的工作實在刻不容緩,任何規劃均要兼顧短、中、長期的需要。


土地供應專責小組

香港的土地供應短缺,造地需時亦長。我們不乏增加土地的建議及策略,但對眾多土地供應選項的利弊、取捨和優次,社會卻欠缺共識。在此基礎上,土地供應專責小組(下簡稱專責小組)於2017年9月成立,由行政長官委任22名非官方成員及8名官方成員,任期由2017年9月至2019年2月,為期一年半。專責小組的成員來自不同專業界別,包括規劃、工程、建築、測量、環境、學術、智庫、社會服務、房屋發展及地區行政的代表。

專責小組認同香港現時和長遠均面對土地短缺的問題,會以全面、宏觀的態度去檢視土地供應的來源,評估土地供應選項及開展公眾參與活動,以推動公眾就不同選項的利弊和相對優次進行討論,並就不同選項作出取捨。專責小組的目標是凝聚社會最大共識,以公眾參與收集到的意見為基礎,擬訂概括綱領,就整體土地供應策略及不同土地供應選項的優次,向政府提出建議。