Skip to main content

Considerations of the Task Force on Land Supply

Land development takes time; there is neither a single option that can solve the overall land supply problem, nor a perfect solution. A multi-pronged approach is therefore required to increase land supply. The community as a whole has to balance the overall benefits and costs, the time required to provide land and other underlying issues pertinent to each land supply option.

Since its establishment in September 2017, the Task Force has examined over 20 land supply measures or options. Some of them are existing initiatives being implemented by the Government and thus may not substantially bring about additional land supply

Notes:

Additional land refers to the land which has not been included in the 3,600 hectares of land supply in the forecast of the "Hong Kong 2030+" study.

. Details of these ongoing initiatives have been enumerated in Current Land Supply Strategy and Ongoing Initiatives. For the other 18 land supply options (see page 35), the Task Force considers that they have the potential to provide additional land. Among these options, the Task Force notes that the Government has conducted certain studies and planning on a number of these options and/or related land use policies. Public consultations were also carried out on a few individual proposals. There are also options that are proposed or advocated by different stakeholders; some are fairly conceptual at this stage and require further and detailed studies to ascertain their feasibility.

The lead time to provide land for each option varies. Some options may have the potential to provide additional land supply in the short to medium term or the medium to long term; the time required for materialising the conceptual options and the actual amount of land supply that these options can provide are uncertain. To meet the long-term demand for land and development needs, the community should also give views on these relatively conceptual options. In addition, certain options may involve more than one direction for development, and the relevant scale, challenges and expected lead time to provide the land of these variations would therefore be different.

For the 18 options which can potentially provide additional land, the Task Force has explored and examined their development benefits, costs, expected lead time to provide the land, challenges and factors to be considered, overseas experience, as well as the Government's relevant public engagement and consultation exercises, major studies' findings and proposals in the past. The Task Force groups these options into three categories:

  • Short-to-medium term options(with potential to provide additional land in around 10 years' time);
  • Medium-to-long term options(with potential to provide additional land in around 10 to 30 years' time);
  • Conceptual options(unable to confirm when and how much additional land can be provided for the time being).

Relevant facts and figures are enumerated in Land Supply Options for the public to consider and discuss.

The Task Force cordially asks members of the public to express views with regard to the following questions within the five-month consultation period, so that the Task Force's report can duly reflect the combination of land supply options the public prefers, thus resolving this difficult issue of land supply that has been plaguing Hong Kong for a long time with joined-up efforts:

  1. All options to increase land supply bring different level of impacts to different stakeholders. In your opinion, how should the community take a holistic view to balance sustainable development and other needs, so as to identify a land supply model that can meet society's best interests?

  2. According to estimates till 2046, there is a shortfall of at least 1,200 ha of land (equivalent to the total area of more than 60 Victoria Parks), while there is no single land supply option that can solve the land shortage problem. In your opinions, what kind of multi-pronged strategy should Hong Kong adopt?

  3. The short-to-medium term land supply situation is the most acute. After striking a balance between factors such as development benefits and costs, and the time required to provide land, how should we prioritise and make trade-off between those practicable options?

  4. Some suggest that Hong Kong needs additional land to build a land reserve to meet various unforeseeable demands and continuously improve our living environment. Do you agree that we should kick start the study for building a land reserve, to prepare for the rainy days?

  5. Some of the land supply options may still be conceptual at this stage with considerable technical constraints and uncertainties. It takes time to revolve those issues. In your opinion, how should the Government prioritise these options?

  6. Apart from the opinions in response to the options listed, do you have other suggestions to increase land supply?

| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

土地供應專責小組的考量

土地發展需時,並無單一選項可解決整體土地供應問題,亦沒有選項是完美,故須多管齊下增加土地供應。社會籌謀解決方案時,須整體平衡各選項所帶來的發展效益、成本、提供土地所需時間及其他潛在問題。

自2017年9月成立以來,專責小組討論了超過20個土地供應措施或選項,當中部分為政府現正持續推行的措施,對增加額外

註釋

即未有包括在《香港2030+》研究中預計約3,600公頃的土地供應中。

的土地供應未必有明顯幫助,詳情見現行土地供應策略及持續推行的措施。其中的18個土地供應選項,專責小組認為它們有潛力提供額外的土地。在這些選項當中,專責小組備悉政府曾就個別項目及/或相關土地用途的政策進行研究及規劃,亦曾就部分建議諮詢公眾意見。有些選項則由社會上不同持分者提出或倡議,部分屬概念性,故具體可行性有待詳細研究。

各選項可提供土地的時間性有所不同,部分或有潛力於短中期或中長期提供,個別概念性選項可提供土地的時間及數量則未能確定。為滿足長遠土地需求及發展需要,社會亦應就這些概念性建議發表意見。此外,有個別選項或涉及多於一個發展方向,而相關發展規模、所面對挑戰,以至預計可提供土地的時間或會相異。

就18個有潛力提供額外土地的選項,專責小組探討了其發展效益、成本、預計提供土地時間、挑戰及發展需注意事宜、外國經驗,以及過往政府有關公眾參與/諮詢/研究的主要結果/建議等。專責小組把這18個選項分成以下三大類:

  • 短中期選項(即有潛力於未來大約10年內提供額外土地)
  • 中長期選項(即有潛力於未來大約10年至30年內提供額外土地)
  • 概念性選項(即暫時未能確定其可提供額外土地的時間和數量)

這些客觀事實和數據,現逐一列載於土地供應選項分析內,供公眾參考及討論。

專責小組懇請公眾在5個月諮詢期內就如下問題發表意見,以便其後撰寫的報告準確反映市民屬意的增闢土地選項組合,推動社會共同解決這長時間困擾香港的大難題:

  1. 任何增闢土地的選項均會對不同持份者帶來不同程度的影響。你認為社會應作怎樣的通盤思考,才能平衡持續發展及其他需要,進而尋找到符合社會最大利益的土地供應模式?

  2. 直至2046年的估算,香港至少欠缺1,200公頃土地(即超過60個維多利亞公園的面積),而且沒有單一增闢土地選項可以完全滿足需要,你認為香港應選取怎樣的多管齊下方案?

  3. 短中期的土地供應形勢最為嚴峻。在平衡不同選項的發展效益、成本及落實時間等因素後,請問你在切實可行的選項中,如何作出取捨?

  4. 有意見認為香港需要增闢額外的土地來作土地儲備,以滿足各種不可預見的需求和持續改善居住環境的所需。你同意就建立土地儲備展開前期研究工作,未雨綢繆嗎?

  5. 個別土地供應建議仍在概念性階段,存在着不少技術限制及不確定性,而解決相關問題需時。你認為政府應如何訂定這些選項的優次?

  6. 除了已列選項的意見外,你有其他增闢土地的建議嗎?